Workshop Details

The 18th Australian Communications Theory Workshop (AusCTW) will be hosted by the University of Newcastle on 31 January — 2 February 2018. The workshop will be held in the Harold Lobb Concert Hall in the Newcastle CBD. AusCTW will bring together researchers and post-graduate students in physical layer communications, signal processing, coding, and information theory. During two and a half days, the workshop will feature 3 keynote talks by world-class researchers, invited technical oral presentations, and poster presentations. Past workshops have provided formal and informal environments to successfully foster collaborative research.

Great discoveries and improvements invariably involve the cooperation of many minds.Alexander Graham Bell

Program Format

After a successful trial in 2017, AusCTW 2018 will not include peer-reviewed papers in its technical program. Instead, the Workshop is devoted to high quality keynote talks, invited talks, open-call poster presentations and an exciting new best thesis competition.

Posters can feature unpublished or recently published/submitted research work. Abstracts submitted for posters are not subject to peer review and will only appear in the Workshop media. Hence, a poster presentation does not interfere with any potential publication plan. The best thesis competition is an excellent opportunity for recently submitted PhD/MPhil students to showcase their thesis.

Prize Winners

Congratulations to the following prize winners for 2018:

  • Best thesis prize: Dr Behzad Asadi
    Thesis title: Broadcast Channels with Receiver Message Side Information.
    Judging committee: Dr Alex Grant, Dr Graeme Woodward, A/Prof Gottfried Lechner.
  • Best student poster: Anand Sivamalai
    Poster title: On Uplink Channel Estimation for Massive MIMO under Line-of-Sight channels.
    Judging committee: Dr Neda Aboutorab, Dr Lawrence Ong, Dr Mahyar Shirvanimoghaddam, Dr Lei Yang, Dr Nikola Zlatanov, Dr Xiangyun (Sean) Zhou.

See you next year!

We hope to see you at AusCTW in 2019 hosted by the University of Sydney.

Sponsored by

University of Newcastle Data61 CSIRO NSW Government Institute for Telecommunications Research